January 8, 2010

Sharpe, Little Named Hall of Fame Finalists

Well my Bronco lovin' friends, despite the bitter end to the Broncos' 2009 season there is some good news.

Shannon Sharpe and Floyd Little have been named finalists for the Hall of Fame.

Sharpe made it this far last year but got snubbed by the "geniuses" in Canton. Hopefully 2010 will be a year of justice for the Broncos starting with two new Hall of Fame inductees. That would be too sweet.

Obviously, Little is a legend in the Mile High City. He set a few records in his day and became a huge part of Bronco history. Let's hope the HOF committee will see that when it comes time to name the lucky few who make it into Canton.

A first-round pick in 1967 from Syracuse University, Little finished his Broncos career ranked No. 1 on the franchise's all-time list for rushing attempts, rushing yards and rushing touchdowns. He played in the Pro Bowl in 1970, 1971 and 1973, and partipcated in the AFL All-Star Game in 1968 and '69.

He led the team in rushing for seven consecutive seasons from 1967-73 -- the longest such streak in club history -- also leading the NFL in rushing in 1971. During his career, the only running back to total more rushing yards than Little was Hall of Famer O.J. Simpson.

He retired as the seventh-leading rusher in NFL history.

Sharpe also left behind a legacy in Denver. More recent memories for most of us but a career that will be hard to forget. He helped the Broncos reach ultimate paradise when they won back-to-back Super Bowls merely 10/11 years ago. Man, that seems like forever.

Sharpe owns more receptions, receiving yards, receiving touchdowns, Super Bowl wins and Pro Bowl selections than any of the seven tight ends enshrined in the Hall of Fame. He was named the first-team tight end on the NFL 1990s All-Decade Team, which was chosen by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee members.

When he retired after 14 seasons, he led all NFL tight ends in receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns, putting together a resume that makes him, in Tony Gonzalez's opinion, "absolutely the greatest of all time when it comes to a career."

Once again though, Terrell "TouchDown" Davis got rejected as a finalist. He may never make it since his career was cut short, way too short, but at least he'll always have 2 Super Bowl wins to his name. He deserves to be in the HOF but we'll be lucky to get even one more in there anytime soon.

Final voting to see who makes it in will be conducted Saturday, February 6, 2010 in South Florida, a day before Super Bowl XLIV.

Sharpe and Little are up against some stiff competition but if the committee has a brain bigger than the size of a pea they'll do what's best for them and elect these two men that helped breathe life into what we all know and love, the Broncos and the NFL.

Congrats to both former Broncos!

1 comment:

  1. Guess whos back!

    My trip was awesome, the only downside was when I learned we had lost to the bloody Chiefs.

    Now some one asked about a season review, I am going to start working on one if that is not a problem and have it up in the next week or so.